PALACE OF LOS CONDES DE GÓMARA
THE SPLENDOUR OF THE PLATEAU REFLECTED ON ITS STONES
In the late sixteenth century, the wealth of the family of Francisco Lopez del Rio was evident. Sheep came from his cabin and was part of the Honest Council of the Mesta.
The result of this abundance, the River and Salcedo built between 1577 and 1592 his new palace in the city center highlighting the rest of the other buildings.
It is the palace is now known as "Palace of Los Condes de Gómara".
Jewel of the Rennaissance architecture, current Court, built in the 16th century.
On the left side we can see the windows crowned by herrerian pediments and the portal, with the shield of the owner supported on two sergeant-at-arms and under it a cartouche held by two figures of angels.
On the upper part of the sheild we can see a woman looking out of the window associated with the infidelity of Francisco del Río's wife and her taste for rounds.
The right part, more dynamic, has on the first floor an adjoining gallery with 12 columns of Tuscan style and on the upper part 24 columns of Ionic style.
The tower is very robust, with square plant, large windows and topped with acroteria. In its interior a typically Castilian central courtyard which articulates the other rooms, with double floor on which a grand staircase download unornamented resulting in a distinctive blend of styles herreriano plateresco and preserved.
It was declared of Cultural Interest in 2000 and today the building houses the courthouse.
|Not visitable (inside).|
|975 211 014|
|"Templaria and Knightly route"
|“Center of the city route”|